Crap photo’s, brilliant bird

This weekend is one of those weekends that I should have been on Vlieland, but, for various reasons, I’m not. So I had to do some birding on the mainland and because I hadn’t seen any proper birds this autumn I wanted to see something good.

About a week ago a Red-flanked Bluetail was trapped at Castricum. As always the bird disappeared quickly after release. After a few days however, the bird was refound and because it showed well yesterday, I decided to go and see it today.

I took Evi (2,5) along and with the bicycle on the car we drove to Castricum. The bird was easy to find and it gave prolonged views, but due to the terrain and Evi getting bored quickly photographing was hardly possible. But what a bird! I saw the wintering one at Zandvoort a few years ago, but this bluetail moving about in a autumn setting was even more special.

Blauwstaart / Red-flanked Bluetail, Castricum, 22 Oct 2011

Geef een reactie

